Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Serbia: Joy of Europe 2017 stamp and FDC

“Joy of Europe” is the largest and oldest international manifestation of children’s creativity, established back in 1969, on the occasion of the World Children’s Day. Serbian Post will issue one new stamp, but with eight different labels! They always use children's paintings for this series. Painting used for this stamp is done by 11-years old Serbian kid Uglješa Milenković. Young artists who painted pictures on labels are from China, Greece, India, Slovakia, Thailand, Bulgaria and Serbia.

Release date is 29.09.2017.

Sunday, September 17, 2017

Registered cover and mint stamps from Croatia

I received a registered cover from Croatia, with beautiful mini sheet Bridges and viaducts, issued on 27.04.2017. On upper stamp is Kosinj Bridge and on lower is Limska Draga Viaduct.

Inside cover was this 3 stamp sets and one mini sheet:
WWF - Euroasian Griffon, issued on 23.01.2017.
Croatian Fauna - Bats, issued on 21.03.2017.
EUROPA Stamps - Palaces and Castles, issued on 09.05.2017.
The 300th Anniversary of the Birth of Maria Theresa, 1717-1780 - Joint Issue with Austria, Hungary, Slovenia & Ukraine , issued on 13.05.2017.

Thank you Tomislav!

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Flags of the World Series: Luxembourg

My second postcard from Luxembourg is from the series Flags of the World. The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is a landlocked country in western Europe. Its capital, Luxembourg City, is, together with Brussels and Strasbourg, one of the three official capitals of the European Union and the seat of the European Court of Justice, the highest juridical authority in the EU. Its culture, people and languages are highly intertwined with its neighbors, making it essentially a mixture of French and Germanic cultures. This is emphasized by the three official languages, Luxembourgish, French, and German. The repeated invasions by its neighbor countries, especially in World War II, resulted in the country's strong will for mediation between France and Germany and, among other things, led to the foundation of the European Union.

SEPAC - The Four Seasons, issued on 13.09.2016.
Grand Duke Henri, issued on 07.12.2010.
Grand Duke Henri, issued on 01.10.2003.

Thank you Sascha!

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Flags of the World Series: Trinidad and Tobago

My third postcard from Flags of the World Series is Trinidad and Tobago, a twin island country situated off the northern edge of the South American mainland, lying just 11 kilometers off the coast of northeastern Venezuela and 130 kilometers south of Grenada. Bordering other Caribbean nations to the north, it shares maritime boundaries with other nations including Barbados to the northeast, Grenada to the northwest, Guyana to the southeast, and Venezuela to the south and west.

Behind this unusually big postmarks are two stamps, both from set Medicinal Herbs, issued on 18.05.2005.

Thank you Nalini!

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Greece: Panagia

Panagia is a village on the island of Thasos in northern Greece. The village is located in the northwest of the island, east of the massif of Mount Ipsarion (1,204 m) at an elevation of 1,108 m. The village is a popular tourist spot due to its proximity to Potamia and the coastal resort of Skala Potamia and Skala Panagia, referred to in English as Golden Beach. Tourist sights include traditional Greek village buildings and water fountains from the freshwater stream with its source at Mount Ipsarion which run through the village.

Stamp on postcard is Mikis Theodorakis (from set Members of the Lambrakis youth movement), issued on 08.07.2016.

Thank you Lana!

Greece: Thasos

Thasos is a Greek island, geographically part of the North Aegean Sea, but administratively part of the Kavala regional unit. It is the northernmost Greek island, and 12th largest by area. Thasos is also the name of the largest town of the island, situated at the northern side, opposite the mainland and about 10 kilometers from Keramoti. Thassos island is known from ancient times for its termae making it a climatic and balneoclimateric resort area.Thasos' economy relies on timber (it is rich in forests), marble quarries, olive oil, honey and tourism.

Stamp on postcard is The 2400th Anniversary of the Birth of Aristotle, 384-322 BC, issued on 23.05.2016.

Thank you, Lana!

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Flags of the World Series: Finland

Finland is my second postcard from Flags of the World Series. Most mail from Finland nowadays comes without any cancellation, but this postcard is cancelled, and on the wrong side!

Water (from set of four), issued on 24.01.2008.
Birds - Arctic (from set of four), issued on 09.05.2017.
Christmas (from set of two), issued on 02.11.2007.
The 50th Anniversary of Finnish TV-Broadcasting, issued on 24.01.2007.
Last stamp is printed on silver foil, but you can't see that on my scan.

Thank you Nina!

Greece: Archaeological stamp pack

I received this Archaeological stamp pack from Greece. It contains Greek stamps from various era, all dedicated to archaeology and sculptures in Greece.

Gods against the Giants, issued on 26.06.1972.
New Acropolis Museum, The Parthenon Gallery, issued on 21.06.2010.
Hercules and the golden apples of Hesperide, issued on 16.03.1970.
The 100th Anniversary of Diplomatic Relations Between Greece & Japan, issued on 28.06.1999.
Homer's Epics - The Wooden Horse, issued on 19.12.1983.
Sculpture of Dionysos, issued on 15.03.1984.
Alexander at Achilles' tomb, issued on 23.07.1977.
Athenian Cultural Heritage, issued on 03.11.2010.
Goddess Athena defeating Alkyoneys, Pergamos, issued on 27.04.1968.
Hercules and the bull of Crete, issued on 16.03.1970.
Greek Sculptors- John Cossos (1822-1875), issued on 28.02.1967.
Return of the Dedokanes Islands to Greece, issued on 10.04.1951.
Health - European Gastroenterology Week, issued on 22.05.1992.
Mythological Figures - Iris, issued in year 1911.
Ancient Greek Art - Urn bearers, issued on 03.01.1959.

Thank you Lana!

The first Moldova-Romania Postcrossing Meetup

The meetup was held on 29.07.2017. (Constitution Day) in Central Post Office of Moldova in Chişinău, and also is organized a collaborative exhibition of postcards from around the world.

 Moldavian Post designed nice special postmark for this meetup, and it fits quite well with this stamps dedicated to symbols of Moldova and capital city Chișinău. First stamp is Coat of Arms of the Municipality of Chişinău, issued on 07.03.2015, and second is Flag of Moldova, issued on 03.11.2010.

This is picture of Postcrossers from this meetup, and one of them is Mihnea, who sent mi this nice postcard. Thank you Mihnea!

Sunday, September 3, 2017

Angry Birds on cover from Finland

I received a cover with minisheet Angry Birds, issued by Finland Post on 09.09.2013. This was one of my favorites games on Facebook. Angry Birds is a video game franchise created by Finnish company Rovio Entertainment.

Value: 6 × 1st class
Number issued: 500,000 miniature sheets
Designer: Toni Kysenius
Size: sheet 91 mm × 140 mm, stamps 34 mm × 25.8 mm
Paper: self-adhesive stamp paper
Perforation: die cut
Printer: Joh. Enschedé Stamps, the Netherlands
Printing method: web offset + varnish + UV varnish
First day cover and cachet: Toni Kysenius

Thank you Anna!