Thursday, October 4, 2018

Faroe Islands: Mykines

Mykines is the westernmost of the 18 main islands of the Faroe Archipelago. The only settlement on the island is also called Mykines. It has been suggested that the name Mykines is pre-Norse in origin, coming from muc-innis, a Celtic term for pig island. This may be a reference to whales, which are known as muc-mhara (sea sows) in Gaelic.

Stamps on postcard:
Landscapes: Village of Syðrugøta, issued on 13.2.2006.
75th Anniversary of The Faroese National Flag, issued on 24.4.2015.

Thank you Wolfgang!

No comments:

Post a Comment