Monday, April 29, 2019

Flags of the World Series: French Southern and Antarctic Lands - Kerguelen

The Kerguelen Islands, also known as the Desolation Islands, are a group of islands in the Antarctic constituting one of the two exposed parts of the Kerguelen Plateau, a large igneous province mostly submerged by the southern Indian Ocean. They are among the most isolated places on Earth, located 450 km northwest of the uninhabited Heard Island and McDonald Islands and more than 3,300 km from Madagascar, the nearest populated location (excluding the Alfred Faure scientific station in Île de la Possession, about 1,340 km from there, and the non-permanent station located in Île Amsterdam, 1,440 km mi away). The islands, along with Adélie Land, the Crozet Islands, Amsterdam and Saint Paul Islands, and France's Scattered Islands in the Indian Ocean, are part of the French Southern and Antarctic Lands and are administered as a separate district.

Stamps on card:
First two stamps are from set Logos of French South and Antarctic Territory, issued on 30.3.2016.
TAAF Flag (from set of five), issued on 1.1.2008.
Refuge in the Canyon of the Black-Browed Albatross - Kerguelen, issued on 2.1.2018.

Thank you Marie!

No comments:

Post a Comment