Friday, March 1, 2019

Flags of the World Series: Ethiopia

Ethiopia is a country in the northeastern part of Africa, popularly known as the Horn of Africa. It shares borders with Eritrea to the north, Djibouti to the northeast, and Somalia to the east, Sudan and South Sudan to the west, and Kenya to the south. With over 102 million inhabitants, Ethiopia is the most populous landlocked country in the world and the second-most populous nation on the African continent.

Some of the oldest skeletal evidence for anatomically modern humans has been found in Ethiopia. Tracing its roots to the 2nd millennium BC, Ethiopia's governmental system was a monarchy for most of its history. Oral literature tells that the monarchy was founded by the Solomonic dynasty of the Queen of Sheba, under its first king, Menelik I. In the first centuries AD, the Kingdom of Aksum maintained a unified civilization in the region, followed by the Ethiopian Empire circa 1137. During the late 19th-century Scramble for Africa, Ethiopia was one of two nations to retain its sovereignty from long-term colonialism by a European colonial power.

Stamps on postcard:
Menelik's Bushbuck, issued on 12.12.2002.
The 60th Anniversary of the Haramaya University, issued on 21.4.2016.

Thank you Julie!

No comments:

Post a Comment