Tuesday, December 17, 2019

Underwater treasures of Micronesia

This is my first cover from Micronesia, an independent republic associated with the United States. It consists of four states – from west to east, Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei and Kosrae – that are spread across the Western Pacific Ocean. Together, the states comprise around 607 islands (a combined land area of approximately 702 km2) that cover a longitudinal distance of almost 2,700 km just north of the equator. This souvenir sheet is part of set Underwater treasures of Micronesia, and it shows harlequin tuskfish (Choerodon fasciatus), a species of wrasse native to the western Pacific Ocean.

Thank you, Burak!

No comments:

Post a Comment