Friday, March 16, 2018

Postcard from Democratic Republic of the Congo

I received my first postcard from The Democratic Republic of the Congo. The country was known as Zaire between 1971 and 1997. The DRC borders the Central African Republic and South Sudan to the north; Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania to the east; Zambia to the south; Angola to the southwest; and the Republic of the Congo and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. It is the second-largest country in Africa by area and 11th largest in the world. With a population of over 78 million, the Democratic Republic of the Congo is the most populated officially Francophone country, the fourth most-populated nation in Africa, and the 17th most populated country in the world.

This stamp is from set Campaign Against AIDS, issued in 2005. 

Thank you, Lars!

No comments:

Post a Comment