Friday, January 12, 2018

Flags of the World Series: Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso is a landlocked country in West Africa. It covers an area of around 274,200 square kilometres and is surrounded by six countries: Mali to the north; Niger to the east; Benin to the southeast; Togo and Ghana to the south; and Ivory Coast to the southwest. Its capital is Ouagadougou. In 2014 its population was estimated at just over 17.3 million. Formerly called the Republic of Upper Volta (1958-1984), the country was renamed "Burkina Faso" on 4 August 1984 by then-President Thomas Sankara.

Four wonderful stamps on postcard:
Lighting Means (from set of two), issued on 09.10.2013.
Musical Instruments (from set of three), issued on 11.11.2013.
Dromedary (from set Domestic Animals), issued on 01.02.2011.
To De Mais (from set Traditional dishes), issued on 25.06.2009.

Thank you Mike!

No comments:

Post a Comment