Sunday, August 12, 2018

Flags of the World Series: Tanzania

This is my third postcard from Tanzania, this time from Flags of the World Series. United Republic of Tanzania is a sovereign state in eastern Africa within the African Great Lakes region. European colonialism began in mainland Tanzania during the late 19th century when Germany formed German East Africa, which gave way to British rule following World War I. The mainland was governed as Tanganyika, with the Zanzibar Archipelago remaining a separate colonial jurisdiction. Following their respective independence in 1961 and 1963, the two entities merged in April 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanzania.

Stamps on postcard:
Waterbuck, from set Wild Animals of Africa, issued on 28.10.2010.
Kuria lady from Mara, from set Ceremonial Costumes of Tanzania, issued on 30.11.2013.

Thank you Yangyang Hong!

No comments:

Post a Comment