Saturday, August 25, 2018

Indonesia: Year of the Monkey with matching stamp

The Monkey is the ninth of 12 animals in the recurring 12-year Chinese zodiac cycle. Monkey years include: 1932, 1944, 1956,  1968, 1980, 1992, 2004, 2016. The monkey is a clever animal. It is usually compared to a smart person. During the Spring and Autumn Period (770 - 476 BC), the dignified Chinese official title of marquis was pronounced 'Hou', the same as the pronunciation of ‘monkey’ in Chinese. The animal was thereby bestowed with an auspicious meaning.

Earthly Branch of Birth Year: Shen
Wu Xing (The Five Elements): Jin (Metal)
Yin Yang: Yang

Stamps on postcard:
Asian Games, issued on 18.1.2018.
Year of the Monkey, issued on 23.1.2016.
Istiqlal Festival, issued on 15.10.1991.

Thank you Wiwiet!

No comments:

Post a Comment