Saturday, February 16, 2019

Flags of the World Series: French Polynesia

French Polynesia is an overseas collectivity of the French Republic. It is composed of 118 geographically dispersed islands and atolls stretching over an expanse of more than 2,000 kilometers in the South Pacific Ocean. Following the Great Polynesian Migration, European explorers visited the islands of French Polynesia on several occasions. Traders and whaling ships also visited. In 1842, the French took over the islands and established a French protectorate they called Etablissements des français en Océanie (EFO). In 1946, the EFOs became an overseas territory under the constitution of the French Fourth Republic, and Polynesians were granted the right to vote through citizenship. In 1957, the EFOs were renamed French Polynesia. Since 28 March 2003, French Polynesia has been an overseas collectivity of the French Republic.

Stamps on postcard:
First and third stamps are from set The 60th Anniversary of D'Air Tahiti, issued on 11.1.2018.
Second stamp is Aviation in French Polynesia, issued on 17.2.2017.

Thank you Ismael.

No comments:

Post a Comment